[ Libretti & Score / Music / Production History / Reviews / Photos / Artwork / Rights & Royalties ]


a hexaptych chamber opera in two acts
inspired by the fables of Æsop

music by Jonathan Price

libretti by Jonathan Price, Jan Michael Alejandro & Jeff Goode

copyright © 2011
recipient of the American Composers Forum Subito Grant for 2011 production

"O glorious day! O sun at high noon. The bricklayer's blessing. The gardener's doom!"

Cast Size: varies
Running Time: 10-minute mini-operas
Tales of mythic Greece with a modern flair, these lush and lyrical mini-operas take new inspiration from Aesop's classic fables.

Tragedy strikes and comedy ensues when a princess becomes a queen and learns that with great power comes great controversy. A poor fisherman is granted three wishes, but that may not be enough for two daughters. A lion sacrifices his claws for love. An inventor tries to outsmart fate. And amphibian voters subject themselves to a carnivorous king.

Winner of both the American Composers Forum Subito Grant and the New Opera Works' "Opera In A Month" competition.

Libretti include: The Lion & the Wood Nymph by the composer, The Queen & the Dragon by Jan Michael Alejandro & the composer, The Fisher & the Wishes by Jeff Goode, The Inventor & the Riddle by Jan Michael Alejandro & the composer, The King & the Cupbearer by Jeff Goode, and The Frogs & the Crane by the composer

The Lion and the Wood Nymph The Queen & the Dragon The Fisher & the Wishes / The Inventor & the Riddle / The Frogs & the Crane The King & the Cupbearer